Hannibal Marvin Petersen & The Sunrise Orchestra - Children Of The Fire

Regular price $18.00

Hannibal Marvin Petersen & The Sunrise Orchestra.
Children Of The Fire.

Originally privately released
on Petersen's own Sunrise Records in 1974.
Recent reissue. 

New, sealed and unplayed. 

One of the most beautiful, most sophisticated,
and most fully-realized sessions from trumpeter
Hannibal Marvin Peterson – and a record that features
some incredible larger backings from David Amram!

The set's a haunting suite dedicated to the children of Vietnam
– one that starts out in a darkly brooding mode, but which opens
up with some extremely redemptive moments as the set moves on
– done in a very spiritual approach to soul jazz that's strongly
in the Alice Coltrane tradition!

Instrumentation includes a small string group, plus added percussion
– and musicians on the set include Art Webb on flute,
Richard Davis on bass, Billy Hart on drums,
Michael Cochran on piano,
and Hannibal himself on both trumpet and koto.
The lovely Alpha Johnson sings on a few of the album's tracks,
and the whole thing is very warm and deep, and has
a lot of variance in tempo and mood, with a strong spiritual feel
similar to that of some of the more ambitious
Strata East recordings from the time!

Dimension 1:
1) 1st Movement: Forest Sunrise (Hannibal) ( 9:02)
A. Rhythm Ritual
B. Song Of Life
2) 2nd Movement: The Bombing (Hannibal) ( 3:10)
A. Prelude
Dimension 2:
3) 3rd Movement: Prayer (Hannibal) ( 4:50)
4) 4th Movement: Aftermath (Hannibal) (17:30)
5) 5th Movement: Finale (Hannibal) ( 1:50)

  • Bass – Richard Davis
  • Cello – Diedre Murray
  • Conductor – David Amram
  • Congas, Bell Tree – Lawrence Killian
  • Drums – Billy Hart (Jabali)
  • Percussion – Teule Hart (tracks: B1)
  • Percussion, Sitar, Other [Bombs] – Marvin Tuten
  • Piano – Barbara Burton (tracks: B1), Michael Cochran
  • Piccolo Flute, Flute – Art Webb
  • Timpani [Typmpani], Percussion, Drums, Other [Bombs] – Barbara Burton
  • Trumpet, Koto – Hannibal
  • Viola – Judith Graves, Julius Miller
  • Violin – Myung Hi Kim, Rynae Rocha, Stanley Hunte
  • Violin [Solo] – John Blake
  • Vocals – Alpha Johnson, Waheeda Massey (tracks: A2)